Typhoon Bising further weakens: Pagasa

further weakens as it continues to move slowly northward, Pagasa reported on its 5 am weather bulletin, April 20.

At 4:00 AM today, the center of the eye of Typhoon Bising was located based on all available data at 505 km East of Infanta, Quezon.

It is moving northward slowly with maximum sustained winds of 175 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 215 km/h.

Today (20 April), heavy to intense rains will be experienced over Catanduanes. Moderate to heavy rains over the eastern portion of Camarines Sur and Rapu-Rapu Islands. Under these conditions and considering the antecedent rainfall over the aforementioned areas, flooding (including flashfloods) and rain-induced landslides are highly likely to occur especially in areas identified in hazard maps as highly or very highly susceptible to these hazards.

Tropical cyclone winds of at least strong breeze to near gale in strength extend outward up to 500 km from the center of the typhoon. Destructive typhoon-force winds extend outward up to 110 km from the center of the typhoon.

Considering the uncertainty in the projected path of the typhoon over the next 48 hours, the possibility of hoisting Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal #2 over some areas in the eastern portion of Cagayan and Isabela is not ruled out at this time.

Typhoon Bising Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal no. 2

  • Catanduanes, the eastern portion of Camarines Sur (Sagnay, San Jose, Lagonoy, Garchitorena, Presentacion, Caramoan), and the northeastern portion of Albay (Tiwi, Malinao, Tabaco City, Malilipot, Bacacay, Rapu-Rapu)

Typhoon Bising Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal no. 1

  • Luzon
    • , Cagayan including Babuyan Islands, Isabela, Quirino, Apayao, the eastern portion of (Pinukpuk, Rizal, Tabuk City), the extreme eastern portion of (Paracelis), the extreme eastern portion of Ifugao (Alfonso Lista), the northern portion of Aurora (Baler, Dipaculao, Dinalungan, Casiguran, Dilasag), the eastern portion of Quezon (Calauag, Guinayangan, Tagkawayan, Buenavista, San Narciso, San Andres) including Polillo Islands, Camarines Norte, the rest of Camarines Sur, the rest of Albay, Sorsogon, and the northern portion of Masbate (Aroroy, Masbate City, Baleno, Mobo, Uson, Palanas, Dimasalang) including Burias and Ticao Islands
  • Visayas
    • Northern , the northern portion of Samar (Tagapul-An, Almagro, Santo Nino, Calbayog City, Santa Margarita, Gandara, Pagsanghan, Tarangnan, San Jorge, San Jose de Buan, Matuguinao), and the northern portion of Eastern Samar (Maslog, Can-Avid, Dolores, Oras, San Policarpo, Arteche, Jipapad)