Tropical Storm Ulysses slightly intensifies

Tropical Storm Ulysses slightly intensifies and accelerates while moving northwestward over the Philippine Sea.

At 10:00 AM today, the center of Tropical Storm Ulysses was estimated based on all available data at 475 km East of Virac, Catanduanes.

More areas in CALABARZON will be placed under TCWS #1 in the next bulletin. TCWS #2 may be hoisted in some areas of Bicol Region this afternoon. Based on the intensity forecast, the highest wind signal to be hoisted during the passage of Ulysses will be TCWS #3.

Today, the tail-end of a cold front (shear line) will bring light to moderate with at times heavy rains over including Babuyan Islands, Isabela, and Apayao. Light to moderate with at times heavy rains due to Ulysses will also be experienced over Aurora, Quezon, Bicol Region, Eastern and Central Visayas, Caraga, Zamboanga Peninsula, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi. Moderate to heavy rains associated with the rainbands of Ulysses will begin affecting Bicol Region and portions of Eastern tomorrow.

On the forecast track, it will move generally northwestward today, then turn westward tomorrow. On the forecast track, the center of Ulysses is more likely to make landfall over Quezon on Thursday morning, with a close approach of Catanduanes and Camarines Norte tomorrow afternoon and evening, respectively.

However, slight southward shift in the orientation of the track forecast shows an increasing likelihood of landfall over Bicol Region tomorrow afternoon or evening.

Ulysses is forecast to intensify into a severe tropical storm tonight. Owing to favorable conditions, this storm may reach typhoon category by tomorrow morning and reach its peak intensity (130-155 km/h) tomorrow afternoon or evening. Landfall at or near peak intensity is highly likely.

Also read: QC, Manila ban Christmas caroling amid pandemic

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal no.1 Ulysses

  • Catanduanes, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, the eastern portion of Masbate (Aroroy, Pio V. Corpuz, Cataingan, Palanas, Uson, Dimasalang, Masbate City, Mobo, Baleno) including Ticao and Burias Islands, and the southern portion of Quezon (Atimonan, Padre Burgos, Agdangan, Unisan, Plaridel, Gumaca, Pitogo, Macalelon, General Luna, Lopez, Catanauan, Mulanay, San Francisco, San Andres, San Narciso, Buenavista, Guinayangan, Tagkawayan, Calauag, Quezon, Alabat, Perez)