Travelers from 7 countries banned from entering PH –BI

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced the implementation of the extended travel ban, to include Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) starting May 15.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente shared that they received an from Malacanang extending the ongoing temporary travel ban for travelers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka until May 31, 2021.

“Following said order, those coming from Oman and UAE will temporarily be barred as well, until the end of the month,” said Morente. “Those who will be coming from, or have a travel history within the last 14 days from the 7 countries will excluded and sent back to their port of origin,” he added.

BI Port Operations Division Chief Atty. Carlos Capulong stated that they are not expecting anyone coming from said countries, as airlines were instructed not to allow the boarding of passengers prohibited from entering, unless they are part of repatriation efforts of the national government.

Meanwhile, Capulong clarified that those who will be merely transiting through said region will be allowed to enter. “Transiting would mean that they did not leave the airport terminal, were not cleared by immigration authorities, and are just there for a layover,” he stated.

Travelers from 7 countries banned from entering PH –BI

The flight ban was implemented to stop the entry of the new Covid-19 variant from India.

Meanwhile, the Department of Health (DOH) on Saturday detected 10 more cases of the COVID-19 variant first detected in India.

“The latest sequencing run included the samples from the crew members of the MV Athens Bridge, returning overseas Filipinos (ROFs) with relevant travel history, and deceased severe or critical COVID-19 cases,” said the DOH in a statement.

Meanwhile, the Bureau of Immigration () clarified that foreign parents of Filipinos need to secure a visa and entry exemption document before traveling to the Philippines.

In a statement, BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said foreign parents of Filipino citizens are not covered by the Balikbayan privilege, thus they have to apply for an entry visa from the Philippine posts abroad. Morente added that they are likewise required to present an entry exemption document, which may be issued by the DFA or the National Task Force Against Covid-19 if they wish to come to the country.

Visit our Facebook page for more  updates.