Travel ban on 10 countries to continue until September 5

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) has announced the extension of the temporary travel ban for passengers coming from 10 countries until September 5.

In an advisory, BI Commissioner Jaime said that following the directive from Malacanang, as recommended by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID), the restriction for those coming from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia is extended from September 1 to 5, 2021.

Those coming from the said countries, as well as those with a travel history in the 10 countries within the last 14 days prior to arrival to the Philippines, will not be allowed to enter.

Travel ban on 10 countries to continue until September 5

added that other remain in place. Currently, only Filipinos, balikbayan, and those holding valid and existing visas are allowed to enter the country. The entry of foreign tourists remains suspended.

The move, said, has been implemented as the IATF deems it the action to slow down the rising number of COVID-19 cases and stop the further spread of the delta variant while increasing the country’s existing healthcare capacity.

Visit our Facebook page for more  updates.