Signal no.2 raised due to Tropical Storm Crising

Tropical Storm Crising accelerates as it continues to move west-northwestward towards Davao Oriental-Surigao del Sur area.

At 1:00 PM today, the center of Tropical Storm Crising was estimated based on all available data at 250 km East of Davao City, Davao del Sur.

It is moving West Northwestward at 25 km/h with maximum sustained winds of 65 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 80 km/h.

Between today and tomorrow (14 May) morning, moderate to heavy rains over Surigao del Sur, , Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro, and .

Under these conditions, isolated to scattered (including flash ) and rain-induced landslides are possible during heavy or prolonged rainfall especially in areas that are highly or very highly susceptible to these hazards as identified in hazard maps. Adjacent or nearby areas may also experience flooding in the absence of such rainfall occurrence due to surface runoff or swelling of river channels.

Tropical Storm Crising will bring gale-force winds in localities under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) #2 and strong breeze to near gale conditions over the localities where Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal #1 is in effect, especially in the coastal and mountainous areas of these localities.

On the forecast track, Tropical Storm Crising will move westward or west northwestward and is likely to make landfall over Davao Oriental-Surigao del Sur area between tonight and tomorrow early morning. Slight intensification is likely and is forecast to remain tropical storm prior to landfall. Throughout tomorrow, ”CRISING” is forecast to weaken into a tropical depression as it traverses the rugged landmass of and will emerge over the Sea on Saturday (15 May) early morning.

Tropical Storm Crising Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal

No. 2

  • The southern portion of Surigao del Sur (Lingig, City of Bislig), the southern portion of Agusan del Sur (Loreto, Trento, Bunawan, Santa Josefa, Veruela), the northern portion of Davao Oriental (Boston, Cateel, Baganga), the northern portion of Davao de Oro (Laak, Monkayo, Montevista, Compostela, New Bataan, Nabunturan,Mawab), and the northern portion of Davao del Norte (Kapalong, San Isidro, Asuncion, New Corella, Talaingod)


  • The rest of Surigao del Sur, the rest of Agusan del Sur, Agusan del Norte, the rest of Davao Oriental, the rest of Davao de Oro, the rest of Davao del Norte, Davao City, Bukidnon, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, and the eastern portion of Zamboanga del Sur (Josefina, Molave, Tambulig, Aurora)

Visit our Facebook page for more  updates.