Pasig City begins injecting Janssen COVID-19 vaccine

also started injecting a single dose of Janssen vaccines manufactured by US pharmaceutical firm Johnson & Johnson on Thursday.

Senior citizens were the first to receive the vaccine at a ceremonial vaccination held at the Sports Complex and witnessed by Mayor Vico Sotto, National Task Force Against Covid-19 Deputy Chief Implementer, Secretary Vince Dizon, Palace spokesperson Harry Roque, and Department of Health (DOH) officials.

In this regard, Sotto thanked the national government for providing the vaccine for residents, particularly senior citizens.

“Kapag sinabi natin na 44,703 ang actual na eligible senior citizens natin sa ito po ay naabot na po natin ng 100 percent para sa 1st dose. The most effective way to convince our senior citizens and even the general population we have seen it’s really through word of mouth. Kapag nakita ng isang senior citizen na yung kapatid niya ay nabakunahan at malusog naman siya, safe naman siya mas nae-encourage siya na magpabakuna rin,” Sotto said.

“Sana lahat ng bakuna ganun so kung mabigyan po kami ng Johnson & Johnson pa we will make sure to use it. Basta may pagkakataon na magpabakuna gawin natin at yung mga nag- aantay naman po, konting pasensya lang. We will do it as fast as we can based on the number of supplies that we have,” he said.

begins injecting Janssen COVID-19 vaccine

Sotto added that 300,000 residents have already received the first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, while more than 100,000 of them have also received the second dose or are fully vaccinated.

Only a single dose is needed for J&J vaccines, which are more than 66 percent effective against moderate COVID-19 and 77 to 85 percent effective against severe or chronic COVID-19.

Janssen doses passed through the COVAX facility will prioritize those in the country’s top three groups, including seniors and those with comorbidity or illness.

All regions in the country received 100,000 doses of Janssen each. At the same time, there were additional allocations for Central Luzon, Calabarzon, Bicol Region, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, and the Zamboanga Peninsula.

Visit our Facebook page for more  updates.