List of provinces under General Community Quarantine

The government announced today the list of provinces that are no longer included in the ECQ but are now placed under the General Community Quarantine or GCQ.

Palace Spokesperson Harry Roque in a virtual press briefing, said these areas have low to moderate risk of spreading COVID-19. He also regarded the GCQ as the new normal.

Below are the provinces that are for evaluation whether they would be still under ECQ or be transferred to GCQ:

  • Abra
  • Ilocos Norte
  • La Union
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Marinduque
  • Camarines Sur
  • Capiz
  • Aklan
  • Samar
  • Western Samar
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Lanao Del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Maguindanao

Provinces under General Community Quarantine

  • Negros Occidental
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor
  • Davao del Sur
  • Davao Oriental
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Lanao Del Sur
  • Mt. Province
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Batanes
  • Quirino
  • Aurora
  • Palawan
  • Romblon
  • Camarines Norte
  • Sorsogon
  • Masbate
  • Guimaras
  • Bohol
  • Biliran
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Samar
  • Southern Leyte
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Bukidnon
  • Davao Occidental
  • Saranggani
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Island
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Basila
  • Sulu

Roque also reported the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Disease’s recommendations on how the GCQ should operate in the said provinces.

Recommendations include reopening of malls, resumption of construction, manufacturing, and higher educational institutions could also finish their current semester.

Also read: There are ‘indications’ PH flattening COVID-19 curve: DOH Usec

Areas under the Enhanced Community Quarantine until May 15

  • NCR– Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, Valenzuela, Quezon City, Marikina, Pasig, Taguig, Makati, Manila, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Pateros, and Muntinlupa
  • Region III- Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales
  • Region IV-A- Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon

Areas subject for rechecking

  • Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Albay, Catanduanes, Antique
  • Mindanao- Davao del Norte, Davao City
  • Iloilo, Cebu, Cebu City

President Rodrigo initially placed the entire Luzon on lockdown from March 17 to April 15. It was then extended to April 30 since the number of cases in the country, and ECQ violations continue to rise.

As of April 23, the Philippines has recorded 6,981 cases, 462 deaths, and 722 recoveries.