LGUs need to issue ordinances allowing minors inside malls

Local government units still need to issue ordinances allowing minors inside malls amid the pandemic, Joint Task Force COVID Shield chief clarified on Tuesday.

Yesterday, the Department of Trade and Industry () proposed to the Inter-Agency Task Force on Monday to allow  aged seven and older to enter  as part of a program to revitalize the country’s economy.

Police Lieutenant General Cesar Hawthorne Binag made the clarification after National Capital Region Police Office acting director Police Brigadier General Vicente Danao in an interview that minors are still prohibited from visiting malls in areas under general community quarantine.

“Ang statement ni Sec. [Eduardo] Año, siyempre ‘pag walang ordinansa, ‘di pa sila puwede… Kailangan ng ordinansa na magbibigay ng kapangyarihan sa local government units na maglagay ng mga kanilang mga different restrictions. So ‘pag wala pang ordinansa, bawal pa,” Binag told GMA News Online.

Last night, Interior Secretary Eduardo Año said minors could visit malls as longs as they are with their parents.

“Para na rin po sa kapaskuhan ay dun sa ipinag-utos natin na pwede ng gradual expansion ng age group para makalabas, ang mga minors, basta accompanied ng mga magulang ay papayagang makalabas at makapunta sa malls,” Año said.

“Ito ay pagtitibayin sa mga ordinansa ng ating mga dun sa lugar ng GCQ,” he added.

Also read: SPMC ‘overwhelmed’ by COVID-19 surge in Davao City – Galvez

need to issue ordinances allowing minors inside malls

Binag said in a separate interview that the minors Año was referring to were those below 15-years-old.

“So ‘yung below 15 ito ‘yung minor na sinasabi natin, as long as kasama nga ho ng kanilang guardians, matatanda na kailangang magbantay sa kanila,” Binag said.

Binag added JTF COVID Shield is still clarifying if that aged 65-years-old and above would also be allowed to go out.

In a public address aired on Monday night, President Rodrigo Duterte announced the following areas would be under GCQ until December 31:

  • National Capital Region
  • Batangas
  • Iloilo City
  • Tacloban City
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Davao City

Meanwhile, the rest of the country is still under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).