General Community Quarantine Guidelines


The government announced today the recommendations and guidelines of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Disease for the implementation of General Community Quarantine or .

Palace Spokesperson Harry Roque said the provinces under the GCQ are the areas with a low to a moderate number of COVID-19 cases.


Guidelines on General Community Quarantine

  • Workers under sector one, two, and three can work through work in a phased system
  • Children aged 0-20 and elderly aged 60 and above are still urged to stay home
  • Mall opening would be allowed except for leisure shops
  • Priority and essential construction projects could resume
  • Public transportation could resume at reduced capacity
  • Local Government Units could impose curfew during the night for non-workers
  • Social Amelioration Program budget for these provinces may be reallocated to those who are still under the enhanced community quarantine
  • Higher Educational Institutions are allowed to finish and give credentials to students
  • 100% closure of schools because virus transmitters are majorly the young people aged 0-20
  • Late re-opening of classes on September except for online learning
  • 100% closure of leisure facilities such as fitness gym and gaming shops
  • Prohibition of tourism and gatherings including religious conferences

Also read: List of provinces under General Community Quarantine

The IATF also gave options per industry for areas that could be shifted to GCQ from being under ECQ after evaluation:

  • Airports and ports could open but only for transportation of goods only
  • 100% opening of agriculture, poultry, and fishery industry as well as the manufacturing and food packaging
  • Opening of food retail and restaurants but for delivery and take-out only
  • Opening of hospitals, logistics, water, energy, internet, telecommunication, and media offices
  • 50% on-site work and 50% work from home operations
  • Opening of financial services, BPO, and other non-leisure retail trade and services

Areas under the Enhanced Community Quarantine until May 15

  • NCR– Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, Valenzuela, Quezon City, Marikina, Pasig, Taguig, Makati, Manila, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Pateros, and Muntinlupa
  • Region III- Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales
  • Region IV-A- Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon

Areas subject for rechecking

  • Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Albay, Catanduanes, Antique
  • Mindanao- Davao del Norte, Davao City
  • Iloilo, Cebu, Cebu City

As of April 23, the Philippines has recorded 6,981 cases, 462 deaths, and 722 recoveries.