DOE chief Cusi is the richest Cabinet member in 2019

Department of Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi became the richest Cabinet member after overtaking Public Works Secretary Mark Villar’s net worth last year.

Based on State of Assets and Liabilities (SALN) obtained by GMA News Online from the Malacañang Records Office this week, Cusi had a net worth of P1.429 billion in 2019 compared to Villar’s P1.407 billion.

The majority of Cusi’s personal wealth is cash, placements, jewelry, furniture, and fixtures (P1.249 billion). He also had investments in shares of stocks (P137.469 million). He declared zero liabilities.

Cusi is a high-ranking official of Duterte’s political party PDP-Laban. He was a businessman who managed logistics and distribution, manning and crewing, maritime engineering, and convenience stores companies.

Meanwhile, DPWH chief Mark Villar is the son of the richest senator Cynthia Villar and the wealthiest Manny Villar. His net worth decreased by P836,738 in 2019. He had a net worth of P1.408 billion in 2018.

Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III ranked third with a declared net worth of P369.09 million, with zero liabilities.

Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade (P310.733 million) and Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Martin Andanar (P172.027 million) ranked fourth and fifth.

Health Secretary Francisco Duque III took sixth place, with his wealth growing from P120.076 million in 2018 to P137.224 million last year or a difference of P17.148 million.

Cabinet members wealth

Below are the Cabinet members and Cabinet-level officials’ Statements of Assets, Liabilities, and Net Worth (SALNs):

  • Former Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia: P120.367 million
  • Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. : P102.539 million
  • Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador Panelo: P77.723 million
  • Agriculture Secretary William Dar: P71.960 million
  • Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea: P57.645 million
  • Trade Secretary Lopez: P48.300 million
  • Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo Puyat: P43.869 million
  • Information and Communications Technology Secretary Gregorio Honasan II: P30.030 million
  • Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo Año: P29.529 million
  • Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu: P27.415 million
  • Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Carlito Galvez Jr. : P25.922 million
  • Human Settlements and Urban Development Secretary Eduardo Del Rosario: P23.610 million
  • Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III: P17.350 million
  • Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana: P16.154 million
  • Social Welfare and Development Secretary Rolando Bautista: P15.750 million
  • Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra: P15.159 million
  • Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles: P14.685 million
  • Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña: P13.011 million
  • Budget Secretary Wendel Avisado: P12.498 million
  • Acting Presidential Management Staff Head Ferdinand Cui Jr. : P10.946 million
  • Education Secretary Leonor Briones: P10.863 million
  • Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones: P7 million