BIR extends ITR-filing deadline to May 15

Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) announced Thursday it extended the deadline of income return or ITR-filing to May 15 without penalties as the entire Luzon was put under lockdown due to pandemic COVID-19

Taxpayers who could settle their dues by April 15 are encouraged to proceed to help the government raise funds for fighting coronavirus in the country.

“This emergency measure is being offered to provide relief to Filipino taxpayers who will not be able to prepare, let alone file, the necessary ITR documents on or before the original annual deadline of April 15…” said the DOF.

A “delay and shortfall” in collections estimated at P145 billion could be plugged with additional borrowings, the Department of Finance said.

“These tax payments are crucial for the government to fund extremely urgent social protection and emergency health measures meant to effectively combat COVID-19 as well as to sustain state investments needed to help Filipino families regain stable and reliable sources of income at the soonest possible time,” it said.

Also read: Bureau of Corrections remains COVID-19 free; inmates ‘try not to be close together’

BIR extends ITR-filing deadline to May 15

The BIR earlier announced that taxpayers who are enrolled in the Electronic Filing and Payment System (EFPS) could settle their liabilities with Authorized Agent Banks (AABs) where they are registered.

Those who will use the EBIR Form facility have the following options:

  • Over-the-Counter (OTC) payment through AABs;
  • Revenue Collection Offices (RCOs) in areas where there are no AABs;
  • Electronic/online payment through:
    • Land Bank of the Philippines’ (LBP) Link.Ziz Portal (for taxpayers who have an ATM account with LBP, holders of Bancnet ATM/Debit/Prepaid Cards or taxpayers utilizing the PesoNet facility, such as depositors of and Robinsons Bank);
    • Development Bank of the Philippines’ (DBP) Pay Tax Online (for holders of Visa/Mastercard Credit Cards and/or Bancnet ATM/Debit Cards);
    • Online Web and Mobile Phone Payment Facility (for taxpayers who have an account with Union Bank of the Philippines); and
    • Mobile Payment (GCash/Paymaya).