BI to implement IATF ruling on travel restriction classifications

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced that it will be implementing the latest resolution from the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) on restriction classifications starting September 6.

In an advisory, BI Commissioner Jaime Morente announced that following the IATF resolution as approved by the Office of the President, the previously-imposed restrictions on 10 countries namely India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia shall be lifted starting Monday.

Meanwhile, Morente shared that the IATF also ruled the adoption of the green, yellow, and red classifications for international travelers.

In the said classifications, international travelers coming from countries under each listing, shall comply with the appropriate entry, testing and quarantine protocols.

“The IATF approved the adoption of Yellow and Red classifications, in addition to the Green List countries,” said Morente. “Following these categories, we will be implementing the appropriate entry protocols,” he added.

The classifications, according to the IATF, are based on each country’s incidence rates and case counts as primary criteria, and testing data as secondary criteria.

BI to implement IATF ruling on restriction classifications

The IATF classified Yellow List countries as “Moderate Risk”.

Inbound international travelers, regardless of their status, coming from or with history within the last 14 days prior to their arrival in the Philippines from Yellow and Green countries may be allowed to enter if within the allowable classes, and subject to testing and quarantine protocols to be implemented by the Bureau of Quarantine.

Currently, only Filipinos, balikbayans, and aliens with valid and existing visas are allowed to enter. The entry of tourists remains restricted.

On the other hand, the IATF classified Red List countries as “High Risk”.

Inbound international travelers, regardless of their vaccination status, coming from or who have been to “Red List” countries, shall not be allowed to enter the Philippines.

“Only Filipinos returning to the country via government-initiated repatriation, non-government-initiated repatriation, and Bayanihan flights may be allowed entry, subject to the appropriate testing and quarantine protocols as set by BOQ,” said Morente.

Visit our Facebook page for more  updates.